‘Lucy In The Sky’ by Paige Toon: Book Review

This is my first book review, so if anybody has any advice on how to improve I would really appreciate that! Enjoy ­čÖé

Lucy In The Sky was the first book I have ever read by Paige Toon, and it most definitely did not disappoint me. In fact, it did quite the opposite.Lucy sky

The book follows the story of Lucy who is off to Australia to attend her best friends wedding. Just before her flight takes off, Lucy checks her phone and receives a text from her beloved boyfriend of many years, James, and her world comes crashing down around her. The text was clearly sent from another woman, but Lucy has no time to ring James to confront him. Once landed, Lucy is able to speak to James and he reassures her that it was just his friends messing around. However, deep down, Lucy is unsure whether she can really trust him.

Whilst in Australia, Lucy meets Nathan. He is gorgeous and everything Lucy could want. As soon as she set eyes on him, she fell for him. The story follows the story of Lucy having to leave Nathan to go home to her untrustworthy boyfriend, James. As the story unfolds questions are raised whether James is telling the truth and they will live happily ever after, or whether Lucy will be desperate to run back into the arms of the gorgeous Nathan.

This book completely consumed me; I loved it. Stepping into the shoes of Lucy made me realise what a strong young woman she was. How she could deal with the hell that James put her through is inspiring. My opinion of James kept changing throughout the book. He seemed such a sweet, honest and trustworthy boyfriend to Lucy, but certain things happened which made me keep┬áchanging my mind. Nathan on the other hand… Oooft. He is definitely a handsome charmer!

I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys chick lit. I finished the book within about 3 days… Which is quickly for me seeing as I am tied down with university assignments at the moment! If you haven’t read any books by Paige Toon before, I would recommend you read this book first. As soon as I finished this book, I started my next book by Paige, The Longest Holiday.. (Review coming soon).

Leave a Reply

