‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher: Book Review

To be totally honest, it took me a while to get into this book. However, once I did, I really enjoyed it and really wanted to get to the end to find out what happened.

The story follows Clay Jensen, who arrived home from school one day and found a parcel had been delivered for him. Opening it up, he was eager to find out what was inside – it wasn’t very often he got exciting deliveries in the post. Inside the box were cassette tapes. Confused, he plays the first tape which has ‘number 1’ written on it, and to his surprise he hears her voice. Hannah Baker’s voice – his dead classmate. Hannah had recorded herself talking before she committed suicide, and she tells the reasons for her doing so. There were thirteen reasons why, and thirteen people who played a part in her decision to commit suicide – and Clay was one of them.Image

The book follows Clay on his journey as he listens to the tapes one by one. Each person on the tape is instructed to post it on to the next person, and assured that if they do not do this then they will have to suffer consequences out of their own hands – everyone will know about it. Listening to the tapes, Clay realises that his view on the world, and his actions, are going to change for ever.

The book is quite a tough read, but it is enjoyable and it makes you think twice about your own actions. I was really excited to read this book as I had heard from so many people that it was a must-read, and absolutely fantastic. However, like I said – I was really disappointed to begin with. I think that was because of all of the hype I was setting myself up for, I expected too much from it.

Once I got into it, I really did enjoy it and it has made me think about the world around me. If somebody is feeling down, the tiniest of things can push them over the edge – even when it seems like nothing to you.

I would recommend this book. Be aware that it can be a tough read, so be patient with it at first. I’m sure once you finish the book you will think of the world around you, and be more aware of other peoples feelings.

 

2 thoughts on “‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher: Book Review

  1. This novel has been on my wishlist for absolutely ages, I really ought to get round to it. This review has spurred me into action, thanks! Also it is good to have a pre-warning that it make take me a little while to get into the book.

    Great review. 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 It is definitely worth a read. It did take me quite a while to, but to be honest I don’t usually read books like this one so that could be why!
      Hope you enjoy it when you get round to reading it – let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

