“Dress like this. Act like that” – Judging a person defines you – Not them.

We live in a world full of judgemental people. People who judge others on what they do, what they say, how they dress, how they act… No matter where in the world you are, there will always be somebody who has something judgemental to say.

The biggest problem is that there is only a small minority of people, out of the billions of people in the world, that actually don’t care what others think. Obviously, as its the whole population of the world, that is still billions of people, but compared to the people who take the criticisms to heart, it is not very many.

Why is it that we listen to other peoples opinions? Yes, everybody is entitled to their own opinion, but when it is a personal opinion about you, why don’t we just laugh it off and forget about it? Instead, when people around you dress a certain way, or act a certain way, many people conform to society and act the same; even if they want to be different. Image

People are scared to be different. Scared that they will get judged. Scared that they will get criticised. Scared they will get laughed at. It’s easy to say “just be yourself”, but it really isn’t that easy. It takes a lot of guts to be different. Many people will compliment it I am sure, but there is bound to be those certain people who find it amusing to make snide comments.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m the exact same. Not completely, but to a certain extent. Sometimes I see things in shops which I really want to buy, or I want to dress a certain way, or express my love for something different; but something stops me. Around my close friends and family I will happily do this, but why won’t I around other people? Just because no one else shares my love for something, or doesn’t like my dress sense, doesn’t mean I should hide it, right?

Sadly today, we live in a world where people feel the need to conform to society. People are scared. It is very easy to tell yourself “that was just their opinion, other people love it”, or “don’t take it to heart, they say it to everyone to get a kick out putting people down”. But no matter how many times you tell yourself that, it doesn’t sink in. What if it is stupid? What if I look silly? What if everybody else thinks its pathetic, but they’re pretending to like it to my face?

If only we could live in a world where everybody was confident enough to be different. Gosh, if everyone in the world did exactly what they wanted without being judged, there would be no particular society to conform to… I’m not sure if that makes total sense – What I mean is, if everyone did exactly what they want, there would be no “right” way to dress, act, look etc. There will be hundreds, even thousands of different ways to act or dress, that nobody would know right from wrong. Nobody would judge. Nobody would feel insecure. Everyone would be comfortable, happy and themselves.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on ““Dress like this. Act like that” – Judging a person defines you – Not them.

  1. People will judge whatever you do so I find the best thing to do is remember this and try not to be one of those judgey people! Do what your heart tells you, not what society dictates and keep on bloging!

  2. Pingback: Health Visitors Judge Me Mental Health For Parents

Leave a Reply

