Why I will watch a TV series more than once..

When I enjoy programmes, I like to re-watch them. I am currently watching the whole 6 seasons of Gossip Girl for the third time, and I still love it as much as I did the first time. I have watched some seasons of 90210 twice, and I have re watched programmes such as The Inbetweeners and The IT Crowd several times.

You’re probably wondering why I’m sharing such a random fact with you.. tv

Lately, when I have told people I am re-watching Gossip Girl, they seem to be surprised, yet confused at the same time. I get asked, “why are you watching them again when you’ve already seen them before?”, to which I respond, “because I enjoy it”. When the first person asked me this, I thought perhaps it’s because they aren’t a fan of the show, but then over time more and more people would ask the same thing.

I would respond, “Why? What’s wrong with that?”. They would then ask me, “Isn’t it rubbish though, because you know what is going to happen?”.

This is where my point is going – yes, the ending could be slightly ruined because I know what is going to happen, but surely it is exactly the same as watching a film for the second, or tenth time. People will happily sit and watch a film they enjoy over and over, so what’s the difference with doing the same with a television programme?

In fact, when I re-watched Gossip Girl for the second time, and even now for the third time, I had forgotten so many things that had happened, and so many characters that came and went throughout the 6 seasons, that I was actually surprised at certain things – It was as if I was watching it again for the first time.

Of course, I understand that re-watching something isn’t everybody’s cup of  tea. But honestly, watching TV programmes over again, really is no different t0 watching a film over again. As long as you enjoy it, there is nothing wrong with re-watching it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why I will watch a TV series more than once..

  1. Cute post! I have done this with shows I love before too and get the same respond so I totally understand! I do it with movies too! Even books! When I enjoy something it’s not a one and done!

Leave a Reply

