Are E-Readers Taking Over?

aWhilst I was in a lecture a while ago, we had a discussion about how people purchase their books nowadays. Although many people still brought books from shops, there was a vast majority of students who owned an E-Reader.

This got me thinking, what is the publishing industry going to be like in 10 years time…

I have to admit, I have my own Kobo E-Reader, which I love. Its so small, light and compact, yet very easy to read on. It is perfect for carrying around with me due to it being so light and it takes up hardly any room in my handbag, unlike an actual book.

However, the flip side of this, is that I love the feel of a new book. I absolutely adore that fresh, book-y smell (I’m sure book lovers will know what I mean by that description!) when you flick the pages for the first time. The feeling of holding a new, unopened book is amazing – It feels so precious, that you don’t want it to get damaged in any way.

Like a lot of people, I avoided getting an E-Reader for a very long time. I didn’t really like the thought of them, or the idea of not having an actual book in my hands. However, when I went abroad on holiday last year, buying one seemed like the best thing to do. Wouldn’t it be easier to carry this tiny, light, compact Kobo Reader around with me, rather than a bag full of heavy books?

I know so many people still read hard copies of books, but I was just curious as to whether anybody else has any views or opinions of this topic?

In my eyes, yes, E-Readers are fantastic. They are much more easier for travelling and all of your books are stored in one place. However, you can’t get a better feeling than an actual book, can you?

What do you think? Can you see E-Readers taking over the publishing industry in the distant future? Or will books always have priority?

 

 

10 thoughts on “Are E-Readers Taking Over?

  1. Even though e-readers are very popular, I have purchased most my text books as ebook a just for the ease of them, I think books will always be here and available and wanted. I do read on my iPad but like you said there’s just something about the feel of a book and having it in your possession. I do still prefer it.

  2. I’m not especially a pro e-reader. Although it’s very practical for holidays, I really don’t like reading on a screen when length is quite huge (as a book). I’m probably not the only one therefore I think that E-readers won’t ever take over the publishing industry as they are many people battling to keep our “past” safe. Books can’t be killed.

  3. Though I am old fashioned and love a traditional book, I see e-Readers as the future. I enjoy purchasing good reads for $3 and then only having to keep up with my Kindle rather than carrying a stack of books around when I have 10 minutes of waiting for something that translates into 10 minutes of reading via an electronic device.

  4. I have 2 different e-readers – a standard kindle and a kindle fire although I find the fire much better as a table and it’s too heavy to read on!

    I still prefer a physical book though and buy most of fiction in paper format. E-readers are handy for holiday though as I save kilos of baggage allowance with mine. Plus you can get new release on the kindle for much cheaper than you can in hardback.

    Proper books will always win for me though!

    http://www.lazydaysbeauty.com

  5. Whenever this topic comes up, I always think about this quote by Stephen Fry and I can’t help but thinks it’s SO TRUE:

    “Books are no more threatened by Kindle than stairs by elevators.” ― Stephen Fry

    There is room for both; I buy vintage folklore books to collect and I buy books I really enjoyed reading and want to keep as part of a growing library.. but my Kobo is priceless. It means I can try any book I feel like without having the problem of finding room for unwanted books if I didn’t like them enough to keep them.

    I hate the whole ‘books vs ebooks’ argument, there is most definitely a place for both.

Leave a Reply

