A New Chapter in Life

I can’t quite get over the fact that in 3 weeks time, I would have completely finished education. My three years of university will be over and I will be taking a big leap into the big wide world.

The thing that worries me the most is that I have nothing lined up for after the summer. Some people have jobs to go to, but I have nothing other than my Saturday job. I have thought about starting to apply for full time jobs on numerous occasions, but in the end I decided that that would be an added stress. I need to get myself through the last hurdle of uni before I put more pressure on myself of interviews and job hunting.

I’m quite excited though. I’m looking forward to entering a new chapter in my life and hopefully landing a dream job for myself. Yet at the same time, I’m scared. Very scared. What if I can’t get a job? What if I don’t fit in there? What if I’m not good enough?

My biggest fear is that my anxiety will hold me back. Whilst being in university, I have tried to attend all of my lectures, but some days my anxiety has had a different idea. I either can’t get out of bed without being sick, or I would get half way to uni and turn back round to go home because my nausea was uncontrollable. I guess what I’m trying to say, is that up until now I have been able to go with the flow. If I couldn’t handle getting out of bed one day then it wasn’t the end of the world – I could catch up on uni work. But soon, when I get a full time job, that’s going to have to change. They won’t accept the fact that I will have days where I can’t go in because of my anxiety. They won’t understand that I don’t want to go for lunch with them because it scares me.

In a way, I feel like I’m about to make a huge step into another world. That probably sounds so over the top, but it genuinely feels like that sometimes!

I guess I will just take one baby step at a time and hope for the best 🙂

10 thoughts on “A New Chapter in Life

  1. You’ve got this<3 like you said at the end just take one step at a time. Don't try to think about too much just take it as it comes.. All will work out as it should. Remember to breathe<3

    • It really is 😦 aww no, sorry to hear that. It gets in the way of so many things in life, doesn’t it? That’s a good idea! Taking things slowly should help build my confidence a little bit more! 🙂
      Aww, thank you so much for nominating me! That has made my day! 🙂 I will do the post later/or this weekend 🙂 thank you 😀 xxx

  2. This is one of my biggest fears as well! I’m really worried about my anxiety when it comes to starting uni. Work however, I seem to be going with the flow!
    Just remember, you can do this! You are stronger than you let yourself believe!
    It will be hard but it will all be worth it!
    I wish you all the best!!
    Lots of love, Karine xx

    http://tropicalcolours.blogspot.com.au/

    • Aww thankyou Karine. That’s really nice of you! 🙂
      Same to you about uni – you are strong enough and you will feel so proud once you’ve made that huge step 🙂
      All the best to you too. Always here if you need a chat 🙂 xxx

  3. This post really touched me, I’m in the exact same situation, I admit my anxiety isn’t bad enough to make me feel nauseous but some days I will leave my bed for days on end. It’s safer in there.
    Applying for interviews is so nerve wrecking but I’ve learnt taking it day by day and setting goals make it easier. For example, my goal is to apply to at least one job per day. It’s too demanding and I can get it done within an hour or so. Hopefully that helps. Take care, Mutay x

    • Thank you so much for your comment! 🙂
      I will take on board everything you said. Taking it day by day will help in the long run rather than piling lots of pressure on top of me.
      All the best and good luck! 🙂 Jenny xx

Leave a Reply

