Should I give up, or should I just keep chasing pavements?

20140426-222421.jpg

I think everyone can relate to this photo. At some point in everyone’s life they get the toughest decision whether they should keep trying or just walk away. I’ve been in this situation many times, and it never gets any easier.

You try to weigh up the pros and cons in your head over and over but it never helps. You get back to that same moment where you have to decide perhaps not what you want, but what’s best. So many things go through your head that contradict each other, like “what If I give up when things were just about to get better/perfect?”, or “what if I hold on and I get pushed away and hurt even more?”

I think a lot of people would be able to relate to this problem mainly through personal relationships, however it could also be for many the situation of anything like family, friends, work etc.

Sadly, it’s just one of those moments in life where you are just forced to either take it or leave it. Or as my parents say, “like it or lump it”. Perhaps it is a lesson for us to become stronger people.
I don’t deal with this situation very well, I always stress about all of the “what if’s…” , but I guess all I end up doing usually is hanging on that little bit longer to see what happens next. You’re bound to know when you get to that point where you just think “that’s it, I can’t take it anymore… I give up”.

And when you do, in time you will look back on that and see it as a lesson (whatever that may be).

14 thoughts on “Should I give up, or should I just keep chasing pavements?

  1. This post was beautifully written.. The moment I decide it’s time to walk away from something is when I can look at it and know looking back I wouldn’t regret where I ended. I would be happy with how far I got and tried. You are so right about them being lessons learned.

  2. I currently feel this way about university and am hanging on, I find it to be the hardest decision I’ve ever made in life but what can you do. Lovely post 🙂

Leave a Reply

