‘Can You Keep A Secret?’ by Sophie Kinsella: Book Review

This was the first book of Sophie Kinsella’s that I had read, and I was not in any way disappointed. I absolutely loved this book, and after reading a couple of pages I was completely hooked.

What would you do if you accidently spilt all of your juicy (or, not so juicy) secrets to a random man on a plane, and then it turns out that he was actually your boss?

The book follows the story of Emma Corrigan – a typical young woman. Although Emma is desperate to get a promotion and for her parents to be proud of her, she is pretty satisfied with her life. She has a gorgeous long term boyfriend, Connor, and she lives with her best friend of twenty one years, Lissy. However, on the return home from a business trip, Emma experiences an extremely turbulent plane journey which was about to change her life. can_you_keep_a_secret_UK

To keep her mind off the journey, Emma can’t help but spill all of her secrets to the handsome, American business man sitting next to her. Every little secret she had – from lying about her grades on her CV, to finding G-strings unbelievably uncomfortable – rushed out of her mouth and into the ears of this stranger.

Once the plane had landed, Emma was feeling rather embarrassed, but what did that matter? It’s not like she would ever see this man again…

Well, at least that is what she thought. Emma was absolutely mortified when this handsome man, Jack, turns up at her work place. It turns out, he wasn’t a stranger at all… he was the big boss of the company she worked at, who had come to pay a visit at her branch! Throughout the story, Emma tries really hard not to let this bother her, and to act as though the plane incident never happened, but Jack wasn’t having any of that.

As the novel unfolds, connections between Emma and Jack arise and her life slowly changes around. Emma is desperate to keep all of her secrets between just her and Jack, but is life really as easy as that?

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was eager to find out what Jack was going to do with Emma’s secrets. Was he going to keep quiet? Was he going to fire her for lying on her CV? I also absolutely love the cover of this book. The fact that it is made up of two of my favourite colours – pink and purple – probably attracted me to it even more, but I think the snow globe effect makes it really stand out.

I found it incredibly easy to relate to Emma. She was an extremely likeable character, and a great portrayal of any young woman, like myself. Everybody has secrets, and everybody has had embarrassing moments, therefore I think most women would be able to identify with her feelings. In a way, Emma appears to be quite ditzy, which again, I personally, could identify with. However, she also appeared to be very strong willed and unafraid to stand up for herself, which I really admired. The book was a humorous romance novel, and the way it was written left you wanting to read more from page one.

I would definitely recommend this book to any girl/woman who wants a light hearted read. If I didn’t have university assignments to do, then I probably would have been able to devour this in one sitting. After reading this book, I’m very disappointed in myself for not reading any of Sophie Kinsella’s work sooner. I am really looking forward to reading more of Sophie’s novels now!

 

 

18 thoughts on “‘Can You Keep A Secret?’ by Sophie Kinsella: Book Review

  1. I read this book many years ago…it was good. I cant remember much more than you have shared….it was that long ago. I really need to get into reading again…i actually really enjoy it xo

Leave a Reply

