“Spring fashion & beauty essentials” – Guest Post by Amy Marie

Today, I have a wonderful guest post to share with you written by Amy Marie. Here, Amy Marie is talking about her Spring Beauty Essentials and Spring Fashion Essentials! Hope you enjoy reading this post, and please head over to Amy’s blog here!


Hi everyone! My name is Amy Marie and I blog over at Cocktails in Teacups. I’ve recently come out of a bit of a bloggers slump and I decided one of the ways to prevent it happening again was to post on other blogs, just to mix it up a bit. Today the lovely Jenny is allowing me to guest post on her blog. I’ve chosen to write about my Spring Essentials in both fashion and beauty, because even though where I’m living it’s cold and foggy (joys of living at a seaside town) it is supposedly Spring and I intend to enjoy it!

Lets starts with FashionSpring Fashion Essentials

Monochrome is a key trend this season, in particular gingham. I was a big fan of tartan during the winter but I’m an even bigger fan of gingham and my wardrobe is already full of bits i’ve been collecting to embrace this trend to the max. One of my favourites and biggest bargains has been these amazing gingham print leggings from Matalan. I say leggings but they’re so much more like trousers. For starter the material is so much thicker and isn’t see through in the slightest, they have a proper waistband and a zip for fastening. I love the turn up at the ankle. And the best part? They’re £12! Yes, £12! I’ve purchased them to fly in when I go on holiday at the end of May, they’re really comfortable, fashionable and will look great with a t-shirt, brogues and my denim jacket.

Pastels and prints are really in again this Spring, which I have to admit I’m so happy about! I wear printed dresses practically every day of my life. But some of the prints in Sugarhill Boutique’s latest range are beautiful.. I mean BICYCLES! That has got to be my favourite. Sugarhill Boutique is one of my favourite labels and I always source them from Scarlett Fashion, which is one of my favourite online shops. A complete hidden gem. The bicycle dress is just perfect for Spring, the pale blue looks great with either bare legs (if you’re lucky enough to get the heat) or teamed with some black tights, like I’m still doing.

Okay, jelly shoes. Yes they are here. Not just for kids but for us too. I’m twenty six and I currently own two pairs of jellys, one with a heel and one without. Not because I’m holding onto my childhood, as a mother myself I’m well past that. But because with a little pair of frilled socks, not only do they look cute but they’re so comfortable. If you have a holiday to the beach planned this year these are a must, they’ll protect your feat from sharp rocks and the hot sand, because after all isn’t that why our parents had us wear them back in the nineties? Jelly shoes are available all over but the ones above are from Topshop. I am a complete sucker for turquoise so these win out for me.

Finally, flowers in my hair. Now and always. I am a magpie for all things pretty especially in the Spring so when I feel like there is something missing from my outfit, I head straight over to Crown and Glory to see what they have available that will match. I’m terrible for the matchy matchy, even when it comes to my accessories. My ultimate Spring (and summer for that matter) accessory is without a doubt, the floral hairband. Lots of places do replicas, but in my eyes Crown and Glory will always be the original. They’re a little bit pricey but they’re all handmade and such good quality. You can even get your own piece designed if you really want to stand out from the crowd!

Now, moving onto BeautySpring Beauty Essentials

 Come Spring, it’s totally fine to go for the messy beach waves every single day because you can’t be bothered to do anything else with your hair! It’s fine, honestly, because that’s exactly what I do. As soon as Spring has officially arrived our comes the texturising spray and I sleep every night with a braid in (not because my hair isn’t naturally wavy, because I can assure you, it is) so that I have the most perfect waves come morning. Then I simply spray my hair and blast it with the hair dryer with the defuser attachment. Ta-da! Enough time for a coffee. My newest discovery in the world of texturising products is Bleach London’s Swap Spray. Don’t let the name put you off, this lightweight spray is awesome at adding texture to your hair without weighting it down or drying it out! You can buy it in pretty much all Boots stores.

If you haven’t smelt The Body Shop’s new Raspberry range, you’re REALLY missing out, especially if you like layering your body in anything sweet smelling. This range has literally just came out but I managed to have a sniff while near a store on Saturday. It’s gorgeous and the hot pink packaging just screams Spring to me. If you’re looking for a new scent this Spring you have got to try this. They have shower gel, body butter (my fav thing from The Body Shop), scrub, lotion and eau de toilette, which is perfect if you’re after a high street perfume because like me, you can’t afford to splash out every season on a new smell for yourself. Everything is reasonably priced and there are always fantastic offers to be had both in store and on the website.

My number one skin must have when going into the summer is a BB cream. Last year I tried a few as I didn’t want to have to wear foundation all summer long (mainly because I hate when it sweats off, gross!) Some were terrible, some were okay but the best by miles was Kiehls Actively Correcting & Beautifying BB Cream, which is available from their website. It’s a little pricey at £23.50 and it comes in three shades. I found that a little bit goes a long way, especially if you mix it with some moisturiser, which I had to do as it was a little too dark for my very pale skin. It’s also SPF50, yes 50! Which was a huge weight off my mind when it comes to protecting my skin from the sun. I have a few freckles on my face and I always worry about their exposure to the sun especially when on holiday. I have started applying this already as a primer, but in the summer I’ll wear this alone with setting powder.

Finally, coral is the shade to go with for Spring. It’s warm, it’s friendly and it’s a great transition colour from the winter shades into the summer nudes and glosses. You can go for a more orangey coral or a more pinky coral, personally because of my skin tone, I choose the more pinky. My favourite is Vegas Volt from MAC, again, a little pricey but as I wear it a few times a week I definitely get my monies worth!

Thanks again for letting me guest blog Jenny!
If you want to read more for me please check out my blog or on Bloglovin.


I really loved reading this post, and  I have picked up some great tips and advice from Amy Marie! 🙂 Please remember to head over to her lovely blog – Cocktails and Teacups! 🙂
Lastly, I would like to say a massive thank you to Amy Marie for featuring on my blog! 🙂 xxx

4 thoughts on ““Spring fashion & beauty essentials” – Guest Post by Amy Marie

Leave a Reply

