“Growing older, still single” – Guest Post by Tameka

Today, I have a wonderful guest post to share with you, written by Tameka.
Tameka Brown is a former high school Math teacher.  She currently does private Math tutoring.  She enjoys helping students succeed in school, and sometimes find a love for Math.  She blogs at Pastries, Pumps and Pi where she shares her love of food, fashion, math and more.  In her spare time, she enjoys reading, watching TV and spending time with family and friends.
I hope you enjoy this post – Remember to go and check out Tameka’s blog afterwards, and you can find all of her links down the bottom of this post 🙂


When I look around me, it appears that everyone is in a relationship or getting married.  Except me.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not ‘woe is me’ or ‘desperately seeking someone’.  But I do get discouraged sometimes.

I’m 38 years old, soon to be 39.  Which means, 40 is knocking on my door.  And I live with my two adult brothers.  Yeah, I know.  I’ve had mtamekay share of relationships, even a few proposals (had to wisely decline them).  But never married.  I think about it more now because I’m getting older.  Will I ever get married?  If so, when?  If not, will the cats come to make me a cat lady?  Only God knows.

Because I am active with Singles Ministry in my church, there is more emphasis placed on my relationship status.  I am constantly asked when I am going to marry.  People are always wanting to hook me up.  No, thank you.  I’m not desperate to be in just any relationship.  And because of past experiences, I definitely don’t want to rush into anything.

I attend almost all of the Singles functions that we have:  socials, weekend retreats and balls.  We always have a lot of fun.  And I enjoy being around the other singles who can relate to me.  We uplift each other and provide services to the community.  And sometimes people make connections, although that is not the purpose of our ministry.

It does get lonely sometimes being single with no relationship.  I want to have that special someone to spend time with, cuddle with and just be silly with.  I am not really dating right now, although there is someone of interest.  I’m just not positive of the direction that relationship is going, and don’t want to make assumptions.

But I have been praying for patience to wait on the Lord.  This is difficult because my patience is short.  I want to believe that God knows best for me, and what is meant to be will be.  Will I be disappointed if I’m not married by 40?  Yes, I’m sure I will.  But I’ll just be grateful to see another year.  It could always be worse.  I could be in an unhealthy relationship or marriage.  So I’ll celebrate the fact that I’m single.  For I do have the best man in my life right now.  Jesus.

If you like this post, you may also like Singles Enrichment Weekend 2013.


I loved reading this post! I think the biggest lesson that we have learnt from Tameka is that we need to be patient. Why rush into something that is going to make you unhappy? Be patient.. It will be worth it in the end 🙂 I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I did, and please remember to visit Tameka’s blog and links below – V__6DC9 2

I would like to say a huge thank you to Tameka for writing such an insightful post to feature on my blog! All the best for the future! 🙂 xxx

 

Leave a Reply

