Those Three Words…

Three words, eight letters… Say it and I’m yours
– Blaire Waldorf


I feel as though television shows and films take those three words, I love you, more seriously than people do in reality these days.

For example, American television show Gossip Girl. Throughout the six seasons, it was a big deal for the characters to say those three words to each other. It was as though they were too scared to say it, and too scared to hear it. There are many relationships throughout the entirety of the programme, however when it became “the right time” for the characters to tell one other “I love you”, it was a huge part of the scene and a suspense was built up to that very moment.tumblr_lxwmsmwf0A1rnufmqo1_500

In reality, I’m not sure if people these days are unaware of the meaning of “love” and what being in love feels like, or whether they just say some things to get what they want.

Sure, you can love somebody without being “in love” with them. However in my opinion, when it comes to being in a relationship, I believe you should only say those three words if you truly mean them.

Teenagers these days seem to get into a relationship, and within a day they are saying that they love each other. Sure, it’s all fun and games sometimes. When you’re young and get your first boyfriend/girlfriend, it is an exciting experience and you have no realisation of what love really feels like, therefore you assume that’s what it is. I know, I’m guilty of it myself. When I was fifteen, I had my first boyfriend. He went to my school, but we had rarely spoke before. We were talking on MSN Messenger one evening when he randomly asked me out. Of course, I had never had this happen before, so full of excitement, I replied “yes :)”. Later that evening when we said our goodbyes, he typed “love you lots and lots”, to which I replied “love you lots too”. This then lead to “love you more”… “No, I love you more…” – You get the picture.

At the time, I was ecstatic. I was so excited, and I remember thinking, ‘wow, he actually loves me!’.

Now I look back, I realise how silly and childish that was. I still see people online to this very day doing the same thing. Somebody uploads their relationship status on Facebook as “in a relationship”, and then a couple of days later, they are writing “love you loads baby” over each others Facebook wall.

Today, love is an important word to me, and I believe you should only tell somebody you love them, if you actually do love them. I had had relationships since my first one, but now I know that I was only “in love” with one of them… Somebody I’m still in love with even though the relationship has ended.

I find it hard to trust people when they say “I love you” nowadays. Do you really love me? Or are you just saying that to make me fall for you just that little bit more?

I love you are three strong words, and they should be expressed with caution. Don’t get into a relationship and tell your partner “I love you”, unless you truly mean it.

The words get thrown around these days, and they mess with peoples hearts. Wait until you’re 100% positive that you love the person before  you say those words… Trust me, it will mean a whole lot more to them if you honestly mean it.

12 thoughts on “Those Three Words…

  1. Oh I absolutely 100& agree with everything you say. People definitely throw the words around without thinking these days to the point where I think it has lost some of it’s meaning. I’ve been with my boyfriend for over 3 years, I know I love him, yet when I say it to him, I feel like I’m just saying it for the sake of it and I’m sure he feels the same whereas it’s the actions that mean the most. For example, he’s hidden little presents around my room before without me knowing then when he leaves he tells me and I have to find them. THAT means a lot more than when he says I love you.

    I’ve said I love you to countless boyfriends in the past but I obviously didn’t mean it! I think we all have! xx

    • Yeah they really do! That’s very true – actions definitely speak louder than words these days. That’s really cute what your boyfriend does for you, leaving little presents! 🙂 I can understand why that means a lot more to you!
      Yep, I think we are all guilty of saying it at least once when we haven’t meant it. But at least we then learn from that mistake 🙂 xx

  2. The timing of this is perfect for me right now. I’ve often thought about how young I was when I first said those words (14!) and now at 30, I’ve kept that list really short. But I remember how it felt to say those words back to someone, purely out of amazement that someone actually said them to me. It’s almost quid pro quo love. That said, I’m not regretful of those moments. Sometimes it’s simpler than we make it out to be. There’s different kinds of loves and it’s worth it to experience any and all of them if you have the good fortune to do so. I think the most important thing to keep in mind through the love haze is that you need to be honest with yourself. You’ll avoid a lot of heartache if you remain true to what you’re feeling deep down. I’m still learning this lesson!

    • Very well said! I think we are constantly learning new things in live every single day! Moments like that aren’t ones to regret, you’re right. But they do make you understand your feelings a little more when you do find the “right one”, don’t they? 🙂 Honesty is always the best policy!

  3. I 100% agree. I notice I love you being thrown around a ton the past few years. Your example of Facebook and saying it all over just a couple days after the relationship is so on point. Thing like that bother me so. I have never said I love you unless I mean it…I can’t say it unless I mean it.

  4. I’ve never said it. I mean a romantic kinda of way. I’ve said it to my friends. But I’m not the kind to say it out loud too much. But yes, I’ve been in love. But never loved, romantically I mean.

  5. Oh my goodness Jenny, not only do we have similar taste in fashion i’m with you on this totally!! I really do feel that ‘love’ is just thrown around too liberally these days, and it is just said for the sake of being said or it is ‘cool’ too or they feel pressured to. Not saying Im a love expert in any shape or form, but to me those words really do mean something special. I dont think people should rush into it. Maybe I’m just living in this fairytale land;p I actually read a blogpost by Louise from Sprinkle of Glitter and she said to start saying ‘I love you because…’ which I completely agree with. So often we just say I love you, just to say it or for attention etc, but the real meaning behind it fades away. As much as movies seem to dramatise ‘I love you’ I think it’s right that they wait for the right moment. Of course life is never so dramatic (well it could be;p) and most of the things in movies aren’t realistic, but I feel this is something we should all take away. 🙂 Thank you so much for another fab post Jenny! I loved it!! Im now following you on bloglovin as i love reading your posts!! 🙂 x
    | Life as a Petite |

    • I’m so glad you agree! That’s so true, it gets rushed and the meaning behind it is fading away! I think we are all guilty of rushing it at some point, but at the time it seems like the natural thing to do!
      Aww thankyou! 🙂 I will follow you back on BL 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

