“Why I started blogging..” – Guest Post by Nichole

Today, I am really excited to share with you a fabulous guest post written by Nichole. Here, Nichole is giving us an insight into her life, and explaining the reasons she started blogging. I hope you enjoy reading this post as much as I did, and remember to head over to Nichole’s blog here!


Hi all! My name is Nichole and I blog over at Upbeat Uplifts. I am so very excited to have this opportunity to guest blog for Jenny!

I started blogging back in February and it has quickly become a part of who I am. I love to look for the best that there is in each and every day. Life is crazy, that is no secret, and it becomes easy to feel down and be unmotivated. A lot of what happens to cause this is actually out of our control, but the thing is there is something that is in our control which can completely change life around…what is that? Well, that would be our outlook! We have complete control on how we look at the things that happen to us. I recently graduated from college (can I get a whoop whoop!) and also just completed my rookie season as a member of the dance for the NBA team in my area, The Pistons. Now that you know a little bit more about me and my background I want to share with you all why I started blogging.

nichole

In December of 2011 I was diagnosed with a rare disease, Chiari Malformation. If you are not aware of what a rare disease is – a rare disease is a disease which affects fewer than 200,000 people. People who have rare diseases struggle with discovering a proper diagnosis which leads to issues finding information and receiving treatment. My journey to proper diagnosis started long before December of 2011. The summer of 2009 is actually when everything started and for 2 years I was misdiagnosed. They were two of the hardest years of my life. I was filled with self-doubt, confusion, sadness, stress, and so much more. Waking up in the morning was hard. Walking into doctors appointment after doctors appointment was hard. Everything just seemed hard.   In August of 2012 I had 2 brain surgeries. Looking at me today you probably would never know…I am doing great now. But getting to this point was not easy. And I would be lying if I said there was never a moment where I had lost hope or where I felt low. I felt this way a lot. But, I would eventually (not always quickly) snap myself out of it by remembering one of my most favorite sayings: someone somewhere out there at the exact same time is going through something worse. This is so true. What is happening to us in the now is not the worse that there is in life nor is it the way our life is going to forever be. It is very easy to get caught up in the moment and forget all the good that surrounds you.

Below is an excerpt from a post in February when I shared with the blogging community why I blog:

Life happens and we can either run from it or run with it. Running from it seems like the easiest route but running with it helps us to become the person we are meant to be. I personally choose to embrace whatever is given to me. It is not always easy and I have my days which are a struggle but when it comes down to it I have never regretted facing a challenge. I also like to look to others as compared to looking at myself. Yes, what I am going through seems like the end of the world but there is someone out there who is going through worse. If you take your eyes off yourself and look to help someone else what you are going through no longer seems so bad.

Always remember: your struggles develop your strengths.

Be thankful for all that happens to you in life for it helps develop who you’re meant to be.

We can all get through this life. Don’t give up.

Thank you again Jenny for allowing me to share on your blog today! 

❤ Nichole ❤

Bloglovin’ – Twitter


What an inspirational post this was! I thought it was really brave of Nichole to share her traumatic experience with us as it must have taken a lot of courage to do so. Nichole is such a lovely girl and has supported me since the first day we met through our blogs! So please remember to go check out her fab blog – http://upbeatuplifts.blogspot.co.uk/
Lastly, I would like to say a huge thank you to Nichole for writing such a lovely guest post to feature on my blog! 🙂 xxx

6 thoughts on ““Why I started blogging..” – Guest Post by Nichole

  1. Awww Jenny! I am so thankful you allowed me the opportunity to guest post for you! ❤ I love your blog and I have absolutely loved getting to know you through the blogging community! 🙂

Leave a Reply

