A Fly on the Wall

Today’s post is rather different than usual. I have decided to do a very short, fictional piece of writing just to try it out. I’m not very confident about it, but it was quite fun to do!

It is a passage from a fly’s point of view.. So here we go… 🙂


A Fly on the Wall

She looks petrified. God knows why.. Look how big she is compared to me! She’s pulled her black jumper sleeves up and is pacing up and down the room with a rolled up magazine in her hands. She looks like she is preparing herself to go into battle, or something!

Suddenly she’s leaping out throwing the magazine towards me. Phew, that was close! I have managed to get over to the other side of the pale pink wall just in time for her to try and get me! She is looking around the room now quickly, panicking, wondering where I have gone.

Uh oh, she’s just spotted me. I can see a rage building up inside her. Her breathing has got heavier and her big brown eyes have widened in fury. She looks as though she’s ready to pounce at any moment.

I wonder why she hates me so much? I’m pretty harmless. I’m not exactly doing anything wrong just sitting here minding my own business, am I? It’s much warmer in here than it is outside so I might as well make the most of the warmth! Perhaps she doesn’t like the thought of me watching her get dressed and stuff… Yes, that must be it. There’s no need for her to think like that though – I’m not interested that way in humans, trust me!

She is beginning to breathe even heavier now, but trying to keep it as quiet as possible. She is moving in slow motion, trying to sneak up on me. She obviously thinks I can’t see what she is doing.. But I can see her every move. Slowly, she is getting closer and closer to me and she is holding the rolled up magazine above her shoulder in her hand like a baton.

Wow, look at her eyes glaring at me. She looks kind of scary actually. Hey, I should be the one scared of you, Mrs Human! I don’t know why you’re so scared of me when you are a million times bigger than me! Now she is muttering some kind of countdown under her breath. “Five, four, three, two…” Crap, I better move or I’m going to get…

*SPLAT*
“Gottcha”.

Leave a Reply

