‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell: Book Review

Cath and Wren are identical twins and have always done absolutely everything together. However, when they leave home to start university, that all changes. Wren wants to have more freedom away from Cath and wants to go off and have fun getting drunk, going to parties and meeting boys. Cath on the other hand, isn’t sure she is ready for that huge change yet so keeps herself buried in her fanfiction world that she writes, whilst feeling Wren slip away from her more and more.

Cath spends her days trying to avoid other people on the campus (including the gorgeous Levi who always seems to be hanging out in her room with her flatmate), writing fan fiction which she is extremely passionate about and worrying about her Dad who is all alone now that Wren and Cath have flown the nest. Now that Wren has distanced herself, how is Cath going to cope with life? Can Cath leave her fan fiction world behind and open up to new experiences and new people?FANGIRL_CoverDec2012-725x1075

I had heard so many good things about this book over the last month or so, that I was desperate to give it a go. When I first read what it was about, I was quite excited. I thought it sounded like such a fantastic book and ever so different to those that I have read before.

The relationship between Cath and Wren was very up and down. I felt very sorry for Cath when Wren decided that she didn’t want to share a room with her anymore and basically found a new partner in crime – her new roommate. It felt as though Wren was being spiteful as she knew that Cath was very shy and found it difficult to make friends, yet she seemed to shut Cath out more and more. I found this whole relationship so interesting to read. I have a sister myself, and although we have never shared a room or been completely inseparable, I would find it very difficult if she shut me out and got on with her life, totally forgetting about me. Therefore, I can understand that this situation was 10x worse for Cath so I really sympathised with her.

Cath was such an inspirational and extremely talented character. Like myself, she is very shy and to an extent suffers from social anxiety. She would much rather spend her evenings staying in writing fan fiction and reading, rather than going out, getting drunk and meeting fit boys. I loved this about her because it made her really unique. Stereotypically, many teen girls like to spend their evenings getting drunk and partying therefore I loved how different Cath was.

Not only does Cath try to find her place in the world, but she also discovers that there is a whole lot more to learn about love than she had ever thought before. We see her learning about love and relationships from the very beginning, which is really sweet. I think her character is perfect for young girls reading the book who have never experienced love and independence before. Most girls are very shy and nervous about the subject before their first love, so I think Cath’s character is a great support for girls to relate to.

Throughout the book, we also read passages from Cath’s fan fiction and her favourite book series. I loved this aspect to the book as it was really unique and it showed off one of Cath’s fantastic talents. Not only that, but it also made me want to find out what happens at the end of the fan fiction story, as well as Cath and Wren’s story.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I don’t know whether Rainbow Rowell has any plans to write a follow up book of Fangirl, but I would love to read it! This book shows their first year in college/university, therefore it would be amazing to see what happens in their second year!

I would highly recommend you reading this book. It keeps you reading until the end, and I have to say that Cath really inspired me to want to write some of my own fiction!

12 thoughts on “‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell: Book Review

  1. I ADORED Eleanor & Park and immediately read Fangirl shortly after I finished it–and I enjoyed it almost as much! I’ll admit that I got a bit bogged down during the fan fiction excerpts throughout the book–I don’t read or write fan fiction and, because of that, it kind of distracted me from the main story line. But all in all, this was a great read.

Leave a Reply

