‘Chasing Daisy’ by Paige Toon: Book Review

Having been jilted by the love of her life, Daisy makes the decision to pack her bags and move far away in order for her to move on with her life. Making the decision to give up on men and keep her past a secret, Daisy joins a team catering for the highest paid racing drivers in the Formula 1 Grand Prix. Through travelling around the world and getting to know the racing drivers, Daisy finds it hard to keep her promise to herself of keeping away from men when she meets the handsome Will Trust. The only problem is, Will is in a very serious long-term relationship, so will she ever get a happy ever after with him, or is she just kidding herself?

Once again, Paige Toon has failed to disappoint me. The more books of hers I read, the more I fall in love with her writing style.71C29sK5fwL__SL1223_

I absolutely adored this book. I smiled, I cried, I laughed and I gasped… I’m pretty sure I went through every emotion under the sun whilst reading this. The story is very much centred around the Grand Prix, therefore I wasn’t sure whether I would enjoy it very much due to not having a huge interest in race driving. However, although the majority of the book is set within the racing grounds, it is mainly focussed on the characters during that time rather than the actual races which I thought was great as it didn’t make me lose interest!

I loved all of the main characters in this book. Daisy appeared to be a very strong minded character and I found myself able to relate to some of the silly situations she found herself in. From the beginning, both Will and Luis kind of stole my heart! When you first meet Luis, he seems really grumpy and not too nice a person, but I actually saw it more as though he was flirting rather than actually being serious. I can totally understand why Daisy fell for Will – he seemed so handsome and charming from his descriptions, however the downside was that he had a serious girlfriend. Although Daisy and Luis were just friends, or perhaps not even friends for that matter, I kept thinking that he and Will were not just competing to win the Grand Prix, but also to win Daisy, which I absolutely loved! It made me want to keep reading to find out what happens next!

The book is set in so many different countries which I loved because it enabled me to get a sense of different locations. I haven’t travelled very much myself, so I love reading books which have beautiful descriptions of different countries.

I think books that are in first person narrative, such as this one, are one of my favourite type of books. Chasing Daisy enabled me to see everything from Daisy’s point of view and hear all of her juicy thoughts which I absolutely loved. It makes me feel closer to the character and almost as though I am literally there with them. It also made me question myself about what I would do if I found myself in those particular situations that Daisy got herself caught up in.

There was one part in the middle of the book that really made me sob, but all in all, it was a fantastic book. I loved everything about it and I would definitely recommend it. I have already recommended it to a couple of people so I’m really looking forward to hearing their thoughts about it. If you haven’t read anything by Paige Toon yet, then go now! Every single one of her books that I have read, I have absolutely adored and I cannot wait to read the rest! 🙂

2 thoughts on “‘Chasing Daisy’ by Paige Toon: Book Review

  1. I saw this come up on twitter so I came and had a look. I read Thirteen Weddings last week and I found it hard to put down. After reading your review I will be getting this one tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

