Raising Money for Charity – How?

Have you ever read a book that has inspired you to do something?

I am currently reading ‘Girl on the Run’ by Jane Costello and am absolutely loving it. However, I am only 33% of the way through and it has already really inspired me to do something charitable.

I have so much respect for people who raise money for different charities, and I would absolutely love to do it myself. My family have taken part in Race For Life over the years, which I have sponsored them for, and I have done a sponsored silence a few years ago in which I helped raise money myself. Of course, I occasionally drop change into the little charity pots left by the tills in stores, but that doesn’t exactly add up to a huge amount. However, I haven’t done anything big for charity in which I can get sponsored for in a very long time, and now that I have finished university and have free time, I’d love to be able to work towards something.

In ‘Girl on the Run’, the main character Abby – who shudders at the thought of exercise – decides to aim towards doing a sponsored half marathon to help raise money for multiple sclerosis. This really has inspired me to doing something charitable myself, but my problem is what should I do?

Of course, I could do a sponsored walk or run, but I’m a very slim girl who wants to do anything possible to avoid losing more weight, therefore I’d like something different to do.

I would really appreciate it if you guys could drop me some suggestions of different things I could do. I have a couple of charities in mind, but I need to choose something to actually be sponsored for in the mean time.

Thank you in advance for your help – all of your suggestions will be considered 🙂

4 thoughts on “Raising Money for Charity – How?

  1. I always enjoy being apology of and planning charity events. Since I’m not sure of the charities instead of just giving you a couple of ideas that pop into mind here are a few sites that may be helpful! I just didn’t want to take the chance I miss a possibility:)

    https://www.udemy.com/blog/non-profit-fundraising-ideas/
    This one is organized by type of event/activity: http://www.squidoo.com/101_ways_to_fundraise

    http://www.cafod.org.uk/Fundraise/Fundraising-ideas/A-Z-of-fundraising-ideas

  2. I did a sponsored readathon for Cancer Research UK in March, I wrote a blog post on it if you want to take a look: http://jennyinneverland.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/sponsored-readathon-for-cancer-research-uk-cruk/ It’s just something that I made up myself, I can’t run to save my life so there’s was no way I could do a Race For Life haha! I raised over £800 so it was a big success and great fun 🙂

    My JustGiving page closes at the end of the month and I was going to write another blog post about it and maybe some suggestions for the next one which I’d love to do next year and maybe get more people involved if you were interested? 🙂 xx

    • Wow Jenny, that’s amazing! 🙂 a readathon sounds like a really great idea to be honest! Congratulations on raising so much money for such a great cause 🙂
      Yeah that would be really fantastic! I look forward to hearing about it in your post 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

