Life as a Graduate!

On Thursday, I turned twenty-one and graduated from university!

Leading up to the day I should have been really excited, but I wasn’t. I couldn’t look forward to my birthday because I was so scared about graduation, but now that I have done it, I have realised that I really did have nothing to worry about.

Thursday morning, I woke up and bypassed the fact that it was my birthday. I didn’t want to open any of my cards and presents until I could enjoy it after the ceremony was over. I was a huge bag of nerves, but somehow I managed to keep it under control… Well, until I got my gown!

Once I received my gown and mortar board, reality sunk in. “Wow, I am actually off to graduate”. That was it for me – my anxiety completely took over and I had trouble trying to pull myself together. Where we collected our gowns from and where the ceremony took place, there was roughly a ten minute walk to get there. The whole way there I was trying not to heave whilst my parents were around me, supporting me and reassuring me that I don’t have to go through with it if I’m not up to it.

BUT… I DID IT!

I literally can’t even explain how proud of myself I am for doing it. I know that sounds silly because thousands of students graduate a year, but when you have the nerves that I have, it really is a difficult thing for me to do.graduation

My course and our families met up at a local pub afterwards for drinks together and a last catch up before we went our own separate ways which was really nice to do. In the evening, once I had returned home, I was able to enjoy and celebrate my 21st birthday with my family. I opened my presents and had a lovely Chinese takeaway and was able to relax properly after the previous build up to the day.

Now, I am back to reality. I am currently searching for work experience locally, and my plan for the next couple of weeks is to keep applying and searching for jobs. I’m actually enjoying the break from commitments other than my Saturday morning job, but I’m missing university too. I have a feeling I am going to miss education – as crazy as that may sound!

I’ve read a couple of books lately which I have really enjoyed, and even though I’m slacking a bit with my blog at the moment, I am working on reviewing them and uploading them to my blog.

My nail business is also going fantastically at the moment. I’m selling customised false nails and I have had so many orders that I love doing and I can’t wait for it to kick off even more. The support I have had is amazing, and I can’t be happier with the way it is heading at the moment.

I never used to write blog posts like this – posts which update you on my life – and I don’t plan on doing it very much in the future. I prefer writing posts about different things, like previous posts that I have done, but because I haven’t been blogging much lately, I’d rather update you with my reasons for this!

You’d think being a graduate now, I would have more spare time on my hands to blog.. But I seem to be keeping myself nice and busy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Life as a Graduate!

Leave a Reply

