Life in a fish bowl

I feel like I am in a fish bowl.. Not literally squashed in a tiny little bowl, but sat here with everybody stopping to look at me.. I’m sure you can understand what I mean when I come around to explaining it…

I’m sat in work at the moment. It’s a pretty quiet day today so I thought I would bring in my notebook and get writing whilst it’s quiet. Our shop is on the corner of a little arcade and there is a constant flow of people walking past day in day out having a nose. Don’t get me wrong, the location is 100% perfect for business. We get so many customers just from walking past and seeing us as well as word of mouth.fish bowl

I have never really noticed it before, but literally everybody who walks past looks in at you. Okay, maybe not everybody – that could be a slight exaggeration – but 95% of people who go by do have a nose in.

I am currently sat here typing away and I can just see people out of the corner of my eye looking at me as they walk past. So I gathered this must be what it is like to be a fish in a fish bowl. Everybody stares at you from the outside and you are just swimming around doing your own thing whilst everybody else is getting on with their days on the other side of the glass.

It’s a weird thought, but quite amusing too! You don’t half see some sights going by – so many different people walking by and in my head I try to figure out what they do for a living. Are they married? Perhaps they are here on holiday? Are they currently going through heartbreak? Who knows.

Does anybody else do that? People watching is always good entertainment to make the day go faster!

Leave a Reply

